On The Grid With Twitchy Fingers

Posted: September 26, 2010 in It's All Important Stuff

Between working at Cisco, running DELTA Triathlon and the IOSDT Team, and checking out facebook, and Twitter,  I am always connected to the grid.

The problem is that I am ALWAYS connected to the grid and have a very difficult time letting it go.    My habits with my Blackberry are the worst.  This thing is never out of my reach.  I mean never.

Before actually opening my eyes each morning, I reach for the Blackberry to check work email and see what happened, if anything, overnight.

Pardon the imagery, but I really dig a hot bath before bed.  My Blackberry sits right next to me and I often check email or facebook as I “relax”.

For me, it is almost painful to visit Beamanland.  OMG, AT&T does not have coverage at the lake.  I could be off the grid from 4 to 48 hours there.  Yeah, I do look forward to the ride out the valley so that my email and text will sync up and I can check it at 25 mph while chasing the other triathletes.

However, I am starting to recognize that I have a problem.  My plan, currently under consideration, is to have a “put the damn phone down time” each evening for 1-2 hours.  The test went really well.  My record is now 6 minutes.

Comments
  1. Elaine T. says:

    I am proud of you for trying. No Blackberry, iPhone, laptop, etc. can take the place of a real person who has taken time out of their life to spend it with you. People need to be present. Those electronic devices cannot feed you when you are sick, hold your hand when you are scared or give you a hug when you are hurting. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

