I Wanna Go Fast – My 2011 Plan

Posted: November 19, 2010 in It's All Important Stuff

I previously posted my fitness goals are for 2011.  Check them out here: Todd’s Goals

How the heck do I race faster and lose weight at the same time?  This is actually a bit of a conundrum, as the best way to lose weight is many long training sessions at low aerobic intensity.  To go fast, I will need more intervals and speed work at or above my threshold.

I also want to really focus on my core this year.  In part, this is necessary to help me firm up the gooey center and a stronger core will help me go faster.

Coach Jackie Miller, of Britfit Coaching, is helping me design a plan which will incorporate core strengthening and speed work with those longer endurance efforts.  Speed comes from power and power = the endurance of speed.  It’s all about the magic formula baby.  Longer slower training sessions builds endurance.  While, intervals and weights build speed.  Put them together right and whammo, you go faster.

I have always said that losing weight is simple.  Just stuff less in your face and move your ass more.  We’ll see how that goes.  I can definitely improve the quality of my nutrition and eat a bit less.  One step is to try to stop eating every meal until I am past full.  It’s a bad habit that I need to break.  Steffen will you help me Love To Eat Right?

Jackie is also an expert at Functional Movement.  Having had several serious cycling injuries and concomitant surgeries, my muscle balance is seriously out of whack.  Jackie will have her work cut out for her to straighten this out.

The past two years have been tough on my body.  As I near 50 my recovery takes much longer than it used to.  Bad luck has only been partially reversed by medical miracles.  Frankly, I am in poor condition compared to where I have been and to my expectations.  2011 is about reversing this.  I wanna go fast.

How are you going to meet your goals?

Comments
  1. Tony says:

    Strength training is your friend for speed and weight loss. Especially as we age. Sadly we tend to loose muscle mass the older we get and even if we stay the same weight it’s replaced with fat. Not really what we want as athletes. It’s an interesting dilemma between endurance training and/or interval/strength training and getting the right balance at the right time of the year to perform at your best. Finding the right ratio when 20, 30, 40, 50+ is the key to longevity and success in our sport. Give me a shout sometime if you want to discuss what I have found and believe.

Leave a Reply

