OMG, I Do Not Eat Well

Posted: November 22, 2010 in It's All Important Stuff

Steffen (Love To Eat Right) Schairer, asked me what my typical daily food/fluid intake looks like.

Frankly, I thought it was fairly good until I really sat down and thought about it.

Breakfast: Hot tea and a pop tart or eggs with English muffin.  Then, I always have a Starbucks latte.

Lunch: If at home it will be a grilled ham and cheese on rye.  If out, it will be my worst meal of the day – a sandwich or burger.  I eat at home about half the time.

Dinner: If at home, I eat well and have pasta or rice with chicken and veggies.  If out, I generally do fairly well, although tend to eat beyond being full.

Snack: Hard cheese and crackers, cereal or something crunchy (popcorn or chips) is common.

I rarely eat drive-thru food.

So a typical day of fluids is hot tea, Starbucks latte, soda at lunch, two or three bottles of water.  I also drink 2 or 3 cocktails in a typical evening.

Post exercise, I will often have a glass of chocolate milk within 30 minutes and a proper meal within two hours.

In my mind, I try to maintain a 60% carbs, 30% protein, 10% good fat ratio.  Looking at the above, I do not.  My metabolic scale says that I can consume 2,180 calories per day and maintain weight.  Judging by the above and the extra 18 pounds being carried, I am over that nearly every day.

It is clear that the 500 to 750 calories from the alcohol has to be reduced.  It is no wonder that I have become a big fattie.

Steffen, what is your advice?

Everyone else, how are you doing on your daily nutrition?  You may not want to, but perhaps you should write it down.

Comments
  1. Steffen says:

    Hi Todd,
    I read your blog and provided some ideas in the link below.

    Happy Thanksgiving

    Steffen

    http://www.lovetoeatright.com/2010/11/food-as-joy-and-energy-source.html

Leave a Reply

