The Sock Story: OCD Run Amok

Posted: December 6, 2010 in It's All Important Stuff

About three years ago, a friend of mine and I had a long and detailed discussion about her new running socks and whether they would work for triathlon.  She loved the new-fangled pair she had been trying out.  They were so custom that they were different for Left and Right and were duly marked with an “L” and an “R” on the top to differentiate them.

She did fret as to whether or not she could keep Left and Right straight in transition, and worried that she might accidentally mix them up.

It is true that I have some serious OCD issues.  I always put in my left contact before my right, and put on my left sock followed by right sock, then left shoe then right shoe….you get the picture.

So, I was totally able to relate to her worries about making a transition mistake.

Soon thereafter, I bought my 3rd or 4th pair of Balega running socks at Omega Sports, which happens to be clear across town.  I love running in these and needed a new pair to better match my new running shoes.

I get these babies home and open the sack.   “WTH, they screwed these up and packaged two left socks,” I complained to my friend.  Dammit, I was frustrated to have to trudge all the way back to the store.

Preparing my attitude all the way, I marched straight back to the shoe department and asked for the manager.  He came out to help.  “I just bought these socks here, went home, and had to come all the way back,” I chirped.  “I have had several pairs of these and love them, but do you see the problem with this pair?”  He looked them over carefully, and without giving him a chance to reply, I said, “do you see the labels right here?” pointing to the big “L”.   “You mean LARGE?” he sheepishly responded.

I am not sure that I said a word as I turned around and walked out of the store.  I had already owned 2 or 3 pairs of these exact socks which I had repeatedly used to run.  The saddest thing is that I ALWAYS put on my left sock first and grabbed the “L” sock and just ignored how the right was marked.

Spain, you have issues.

 

Comments
  1. Jim says:

    No one ever accused you of being right-minded ….

  2. Jonathan says:

    Does that mean you have two left feet? How are you at dancing?

Leave a Reply

