Digging In Vs Digging A Hole

Posted: January 18, 2011 in It's All Important Stuff

When you find yourself in a deep hole, stop digging.

I could rattle off a laundry list of excuses why, but the bottom line is that I have NOT got my training on track for 2011.

My procrastination has left me at the bottom of a deep hole given that I wanted to PR the Tobacco Road Half in March and pick up my speed in spring.

Jackie Miller, of Britfit Personal Training & Coaching performed a Functional Performance screening on me two weeks ago.  Frankly, the result was embarrassing.  My core strength and flexibility must be improved.  Jackie wrote out a great plan and life has conspired to keep me from executing.

It is time to stop digging and dig in.

Sunday began the turnaround with a great ride and I had a great run today.  The sun was shining and my new super-green Newton shoes feel great.  Tonight, Jackie is going to work me over and give me that Tony Dungy-like stare, without any yelling, that will remind me how I have to get it done. Wednesday will be a sweat-fest brick at the HEAT Studio.

I am digging in.

Leave a Reply

