This Took Me 50 Years To Learn

Posted: February 16, 2011 in It's All Important Stuff
  1. It is taking much longer than I expected to become the person I want to be.
  2. It is always, always, always best to live by my own values.
  3. Everyone you meet is better than you at something and vice versa.
  4. From Mother Teresa to Richard Nixon, all people are inherently self-interested.
  5. I am responsible for my own happiness.
  6. My green and your green look different.
  7. Most people continue to evolve, but most relationships do not.
  8. There is almost always a lesson if we are willing to look.
  9. You are going to piss off some people – just accept it.
  10. Your very best friends will tell you the truth.
  11. How you live changes your brain.
  12. Exercise creates time.
  13. Some people are just not good for you.
  14. Appreciate what has happened as much as what will.
  15. If you don’t love yourself, you can never love someone else.
  16. You can keep going long after you think you cannot.
  17. Unconditional acceptance is not unconditional agreement.
  18. Analyze it, bounce it against your values, make a decision and don’t look back.
  19. Forgiving yourself is damn hard and damn important.
  20. I love being king of the cool kids club.
  21. Life has a beautiful symmetry.

 

 

Comments
  1. Jonathan says:

    very nice. I think that it takes a long time to learn good lessons like these.

    I am continuing to struggle with #12. And yes you are the king of the cool kids club.

    Hopefully I will be as wise as you when I am your age.

Leave a Reply

