Achieving A Racing Mind

Posted: April 11, 2011 in It's All Important Stuff

The Cary Duathlon was probably my best race ever. Typically my mind rages through a disaster movie of thoughts powered with ADD-rocket fuel.  This was hugely different, I was totally in the moment.

I am not completely sure why, but I had a very relaxed and focused mind.  At the start the usual nerves were just not there.  As a result, the race seemed to pass very quickly and yet my mind worked through each section patiently and carefully.  This is my first real feeling of a true racing mind and I liked it.

It was sort of like I had a heads up display of perceived effort, current terrain, the upcoming course,  and where the competition was on course.  At the same time, I knew exactly where I could to lose or gain time.  With each section and sub-section I made real time adjustments.

Maybe it is somewhat like my Mac.  All other applications were closed, leaving maximum memory and CPU cycles for a singular task.

 

Related Blog Posts:

Whatever The Mind Expects It Will Find
Take A Deep Breath And Let It Go
On Being Fearless

Interesting Related Videos With Stacey Richardson:

Mental Preparation For Triathlon Racing Part I
Mental Preparation For Triathlon Racing Part II

Comments
  1. Mary Lyle says:

    You simply knew that I was on your heels, awaiting one falter, and I’d be around you and gone! Yet, you persevered and kicked those long legs repeatedly, leaving me and others to eat Todd Spain dust…mud in some places…but nonetheless. 😉
    You had an amazing race and I was proud to not only be wearing the same, stunning IOSDT attire, but to see my teammate(s) kicking arse! Congrats to you, T, and to all others out there, “feelling that pivotal race vibe”! It’s why we all come back for more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

