Circumspect Upheaval

Posted: May 14, 2011 in It's All Important Stuff

I smiled,
I waited,
I was circumspect;
O never, never, never write that I
missed life or loving.


In the last two years I have experienced:

– Three surgeries; leg, wrist, and an appendectomy yesterday
– A broken thumb and two broken toes – yeah, I dinged a toe again last week
– Stitches in a thumb and calf
– The continued chaos that is Cisco
– Acceptance that Lance probably doped
– Moving from the Cleaver house to a beaver lodge
– A personal investment typhoon
Love American Style
– Much less time with my boys
– And, the loss of my mom

I have always believed that Chaos = Opportunity; this period of upheaval has had its opportunities.  In many ways this has been the happiest time of my life.  Life rages in me.

I know Todd much better.  I know what is important to me.  For the first time, in a long time, I have real goals.  Pursuing the Tri-life has renewed my faith in the value of hard work and dedication.  Coach Alex McDonald has helped me focus.  And, I have been able to develop many close and long-lasting friendships.

It may be Karma or luck, but somehow because of, or despite the upheaval, I am circumspect about happiness.

Comments
  1. Paul Sappie says:

    In high school, I either broke a bone or tore ligaments in my legs/ankles three consecutive years. After the third time I was leaving the orthopedic office angry, frustrated, dejected, and exasperated. Throwing my crutches to the ground, I looked to the sky, raised my arms and shouted “why me? WHY ME???”. Imagine my shock when a deep booming Heston-like voice reverberated from the clouds. “There’s just something about you that pisses me off”. 🙂

    Seriously. Hang in there friend. Stuff happens. More often to people like you that are living their lives to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

