Every Day Is Event Day

Posted: June 17, 2013 in Bike Stories, It's All Important Stuff

safetypintutstep1While pinning on my event number for the Fletcher Flyer Century a couple of weeks ago, I swelled with pride, then suddenly felt very old, when realizing how many times I had done this in my lifetime.

My very fuzzy math says that I have competed and/or participated in about 200 bike race days, 120 cycling events, 40 triathlons, 20 running races and Lord knows what else.  For each of those events I was given 4 safety pins to affix the requisite race number.  This adds up to approximately 1,520 safety pins.

Each event brought a different adrenalin rush.  Before the 1980 Octoginta I was out of my mind with anxiety as it was my very first cycling event and I had barely ridden more than 40 miles at any one time prior.  Most regular bike centuries or metric centuries barely bring a heart rate spike worse than pumping up the tires.  On the start line for one of the Tour De Moore road races, my heart rate spiked at 148 before the official “Chips” finally set us off, then my heart rate actually went down until the first big climb.  Ironman Florida had my heart in my throat for weeks in advance, but on race day I was ridiculously calm.  Running is really not my thing, so I am usually just ready to get it over with.

However, now that I have started 2Vectors, my new technology consulting business, I begin every single morning with the feeling that today is event day.  This is what the lifetime of training and preparation are all about.  It comes in slightly different flavors as each of my events have, but the quiet smile inside, extra alertness and battle readiness are the same.  Whether Nigel and I succeed in this partnership or fail is entirely up to us.  We have logged the miles, paid our dues, have a great support team and are very focused on the outcome we have visualized.  For me, every day is event day!

Leave a Reply

